FishDuck Article

Moorhead Offense: Oregon’s Split Zone RPO

Coach Joe Moorhead is known all throughout the coaching ranks as a master schemer and architect of one of the smartest RPO based offenses in the nation. He has designed an offense with the Oregon Ducks that allows them to keep the physical style of run game they’re known for, while adding another layer. The RPO system that Coach Moorhead ...

Read the full article here...

Two Sites: FishDuck and the Our Beloved Ducks forum, The only "Forum with Decorum!" And All-Volunteer? What a wonderful community of Duck fans!

Love seeing the defense read and the correct choice being made. 

I also love seeing how our offense can be creative, while keeping the defense on their toes. We have to keep the defense guessing, now if we can just add a little more hurry up the defense won't know what hit it!

• Thumbs Up 1

I'm new to the RPO scheme of offense.  At first glance I love the multiple ways one can attack.

However, the key is having a QB make good reads and wise decisions quickly!  So far this year we have a 6th year senior making bad reads and wrong decisions.  

Coaches have the incredibly important decision to choose wisely.  At this point if Brown is the choice call the exact play.  Don't have him read or make a decision.

But then why use him at QB?

• Thumbs Up 1

On 10/7/2021 at 7:01 AM, Smith72 said:

Whew!  Tough question that I don't think we are going to get our answer to...

Mr. FishDuck

Great analysis.  Dumb question...in the video, looks like the LB is crashing down to stop the run.  Why is the correct decision not to pull and pass to TE in the flat?  Looks like he would be uncovered.

• Thumbs Up 1

Another great article. Thank you Coach.

I do note that the RPO seems to work better with McSorley at QB and Barkley at RB?  And being an OC under a hands off HC, James Franklin, also likely helps?

This O was so-so at Mississippi State and it isn't lighting up the Pac-12.