Jump to content

Another Duck On An Award List

Recommended Posts





COMMUNICATIONS CONTACT: Will Patterson (willpatt@uoregon.edu)


Guerrier Named to Karl Malone Award Watch List


Online Version: https://bit.ly/2Z545Lx


SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Junior Quincy Guerrier was one of 20 players nationally named to the 2022 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award watch list by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame on Thursday.


The Pac-12 preseason all-conference second team selection played and started in 28 games for Syracuse last season, averaging 13.7 points (.493 FG%), 8.4 rebounds and 1.1 blocks per game, earning third team All-ACC honors. Guerrier helped the Orange advance to the Sweet Sixteen with 12 points, seven rebounds and a career-high five blocks in the second round win over West Virginia.


With four position player award watch lists released, Oregon is one of nine programs to be represented on at least three of the lists – joining Duke, Gonzaga, Kansas, Memphis, Michigan, Texas, UCLA and Villanova. Ducks senior Will Richardson was named to the Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year watch list on Monday, while junior De’Vion Harmon made the Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year watch list on Tuesday.


Previous winners include Drew Timme, Gonzaga (2021), Obi Toppin, Dayton (2020), Zion Williamson, Duke (2019), Deandre Ayton, Arizona (2018), Johnathan Motley, Baylor (2017), Georges Niang, Iowa State (2016) and Montrezl Harrell, Louisville (2015).


The winner of the 2022 Karl Malone Award will be presented on a to-be-determined date, along with the other four members of the Men’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award, in addition to the Women’s Starting Five.


2022 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Candidates*

Azoulas Tubelis - Arizona

Jabari Smith - Auburn

David Roddy - Colorado St.

Paolo Banchero - Duke

Drew Timme - Gonzaga

Trayce Jackson-Davis - Indiana

Kenneth Lofton Jr. - Louisiana Tech

Eli Scott - Loyola Marymount

Darius Days - LSU

Donta Scott - Maryland

DeAndre Williams - Memphis

Dawson Garcia - North Carolina

EJ Lidell - Ohio State

Quincy Guerrier - Oregon

Trevion Williams - Purdue

John Fulkerson - Tennessee

Tre Mitchell - Texas

Isaiah Mobley - USC

Jayden Gardner - Virginia

Keve Aluma - Virginia Tech


*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2021-22 season*



Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...