Jump to content
Charles Fischer

Oregon Transfer (In) Named to Jerry West Award Watch List?

Recommended Posts

(Press Release from Oregon Athletics)


SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Junior De’Vion Harmon was one of 20 players nationally named to the 2022 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award watch list by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame on Tuesday.


The Pac-12 preseason all-conference second team selection played in 25 game (23 starts) for Oklahoma last season, averaging 12.9 points, 3.4 rebounds, 2.1 assists and 1.1 steals per game. Harmon received All-Big 12 honorable mention, recording four 20-point games, including a season-high 23 points versus Oklahoma State.


Last year, Chris Duarte became the first Oregon player to win the award, averaging 17.1 points, 4.6 rebounds, 2.7 assists and 1.9 steals for the Ducks, before being drafted 13th overall by the Indiana Pacers in the 2021 NBA Draft.


Other previous winners include Myles Powell, Seton Hall (2020), RJ Barrett, Duke (2019), Carsen Edwards, Purdue (2018), Malik Monk, Kentucky (2017), Buddy Hield, Oklahoma (2016) and D’Angelo Russell, Ohio State (2015).


Jerry West attended West Virginia University and averaged 24.8 points and 13.3 rebounds per game in his three varsity seasons. He led his team to the NCAA Championship game in 1959 and was named a consensus All-American in 1959 and 1960. As a professional player, West played 14 seasons in the NBA with the Lakers making the All-NBA First Team 10 times. In 1996, he was named a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team.


The winner of the 2022 Jerry West Award will be presented on a to-be-determined date, along with the other four members of the Men’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award, the Karl Malone Power Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award, in addition to the Women’s Starting Five.


For more information on the 2022 Jerry West Award and the latest updates, log onto www.hoophallawards.com and follow @hoophall and #WestAward on Twitter and Instagram. Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will go live on Friday, October 22.


2022 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award Candidates*

Jaden Shackelford       Alabama

Bennedict Mathurin    Arizona

Adam Flagler              Baylor

Hunter Sallis                Gonzaga

Ochai Agbaji                Kansas

Kellan Grady                Kentucky

Taevion Kinsey            Marshall

Eric Ayala                    Maryland

Landers Nolley            Memphis

Isaiah Wong                Miami

Eli Brooks                    Michigan

De'Vion Harmon        Oregon

Jaden Ivey                   Purdue

Matt Bradley               San Diego St.

Jared Rhoden              Seton Hall

Buddy Boeheim          Syracuse

Andrew Jones              Texas

Terrence Shannon Jr. Texas Tech

Johnny Juzang             UCLA

Justin Moore               Villanova


*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2021-22 season*


De’Vion Harmon_Twitter.jpg

Mr. FishDuck

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...