Charles Fischer

Will Coach Lombardi use RELIEF PITCHERS Extensively in 2021?

I bring this up because Oregon not only has incredible pitching depth, but superb quality to boot.  Add to it how Lombardi has several different types of pitchers....it begins to make you wonder about this.  I am a novice when it comes to softball/baseball and would love the opinion of others.  (Season begins tomorrow!)

Oregon Softball Pitchers:

Samaria Diaz, right-handed, Senior, 1.0 ERA, 8-0 last year.
Brooke Yanez, left-handed, Junior, 1.56 ERA, 9-1
Jordan Dail, right-handed, Junior, 2.39 ERA, 5-1
Makenna Kliethermes, right-handed, Freshman, 1.05 ERA, (no hits allowed in five appearances last year)
Raegan Breedlove, right-handed, Freshman, 0.39 ERA in high school, No. 15 best HS player in US last year according to FloSoftball. 

With five pitchers....would you have a starter, reliever and closer?  Two of the three?  So many variables to ponder, but Coach Melyssa Lombardi has recruited herself into some nice choices...

GLB18919.jpg

Mr. FishDuck

Depth is always good. Softball pitching and relieving is much different from baseball. I'm still not sure of all the rules, but, while in baseball once a pitcher is removed he can not return to the game, a softball pitcher can be removed, and she can return to the game. I don't think a pitcher can be removed for one batter, but that's about it.

Mike White had great starting pitching, and didn't use many of these relieving rules. Cheridan Hawkins, Megan Kleist, Miranda Elish, were rarely taken out at all. In 2019,  Lombardi didn't pull Jordan Dail very often, but she was pretty much the only pitcher that team had! It will be great to see How Lombardi handles this deep pitching staff. 

Guest Jack Reacher

Lombardi has one of the best, if not the best, pitching staffs in the country.  Other schools may have better individual pitchers but as a group, not many can rival what Oregon has - 5 stud arms.